Committees and Co-Chairs

NYWBA’s committees are a key component in our success. Our Judiciary Committee actively reviews the qualifications of judicial candidates. Through our affiliation with the Women’s Bar Association of the State of New York (WBASNY), NYWBA also comments on proposed legislation and policy at state, federal, and international levels. Our substantive law committees and practice area committees also provide a forum for members to network and resolve real legal issues, and our Technology and the Internet for Lawyers Committee offers insights to attorneys on things technological that affect the practice of law.

If you are a member and would like to join a committee, click here to access our online form to submit your committee choices. If you have any questions about our Committees, contact the Committee Chair(s) or the NYWBA’s Executive Director (ED@nywba.org or 212-490-8202).

NYWBA Standing Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs
By-Laws & Amendments
  • Elizabeth A. Bryson
  • Amy B. Goldsmith
bylaws@nywba.org
Cooperation with Other Bar Associations
  • Hon. Kelly O’Neill Levy
  • Yacine Barry-Wun
CoopBarChairs@nywba.org
Employment and Equal Opportunity for Women
  • TBD
Judiciary (Screening of Candidates for Judicial Office)
  • Magnolia D. Levy
  • Jennifer P. Brown
  • Alexis L. Cirel
judiciarychairs@nywba.org
Legislation
  • Peggy Brady
  • Alexis L. Cirel
legislation@nywba.org
Membership
  • Jacqueline I. Meyer
  • Meaghan E. Carey
membership@nywba.org
Professional Ethics and Discipline
  • Nicole I. Hyland
ethicschairs@nywba.org
Programs, Events and Arrangements
  • Diana G. Browne
  • Kay Marmorek
  • Magnolia D. Levy (Membership Judiciary & Dinner Receptions)
  • Jo Ann Douglas (Annual Dinner)
events@nywba.org
Publicity/Press
  • Julie Hyman
publicity@nywba.org
NYWBA Special Committee Chairs

 

Advance the Status of Women in the Profession
  • Seng Yan Sin
  • Kelechi Acholonu
  • Michelle Fox
advancestatus@nywba.org
Alternate Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Leona Beane
  • Lisa Courtney
  • Michele Kern-Rappy
adr@nywba.org
Archives and History
  • Elizabeth A. Bryson
  • Melissa Glassman
archives@nywba.org
Awards
  • Myra L. Freed
  • Sabrina Morrissey
  • Judith Rifkin
  • Olivia Sohmer
 awards@nywba.org
 Children’s Rights and Issues
  • Jo Ann Douglas
  • Danielle M. Rodriguez
  • Tara Diamond
childrensrights@nywba.org
Civil Courts
  • Melissa G. Ephron-Mandel
  • Judith Rifkin
  • John Wang
civilcourtschairs@nywba.org
Continuing Legal Education (CLE)
  • Amy B. Goldsmith
  • Tara Diamond
  • Elizabeth J. Shampnoi
cle@nywba.org
Criminal Law
  • Catherine Christian
  • Olivia Sohmer
  • Jessica Horani
crimlawchairs@nywba.org
Diversity
  • Kristen Ramos
  • Yasmin Dwedar
  • Ernestine Mings
diversity@nywba.org
Domestic Violence
  • Amanda B. Norejko
  • Laura A. Russell
  • Shani Adess
dvchairs@nywba.org
Elder Law and Disabilities
  • Lissette Ferreira
  • Kim F. Trigoboff
  • Sabrina E. Morrissey
elderlawchairs@nywba.org
Federal Practice (including Business Law, Securities & Investment Law, Intellectual Property, Tax & Bankruptcy)
  • Vivian Drohan
  • Elyssa Kates
federalpractice@nywba.org
Immigration
  • Michael Schreiber
  • Marcella Marucci
immigration@nywba.org
International Women’s Rights
  • Nicole Trivlis
  • Irina Zamyatin
intlchairs@nywba.org
LGBT
  • Dawn Cardi
  • Michael Schreiber
LGBT Chairs@nywba.org
Litigation
  • Sara J. Crasson
  • Nidhi Shetye
  • Angelica Kontoroff
litigation@nywba.org
Long Range Planning/Finance
  • Elizabeth A. Bryson
  • Myra L. Freed
LRP@nywba.org
Matrimonial and Family Law
  • Nina Gross
  • Matthew Goodwin
  • Olivia Lee
mfchairs@nywba.org
Newsletter
  • Dana Heitz
  • Gabriella Formosa
  • Jennifer Branca
  • Katelyn M. Brack
newsletter@nywba.org
Reproductive Rights & Women’s Health
  • Meaghan Carey
  • Alexandra King
  • Lydia Devine
reproductiverights@nywba.org
Solo and Small Firm Practice
  • Gail I. Bader
  • Jocelyn L. Jacobson
SSFChairs@nywba.org
Summer Program
  • Hon. Lisa A. Sokoloff
  • Victoria A. Turchetti
summerprogram@nywba.org
Technology and the Internet/Website
  • Elizabeth A. Bryson
  • Yacine Barry-Wun
TIL@nywba.org
Trusts and Estates
  • Leona Beane
  • Tzipora Zelmanowitz
  • Loretta A. Ippolito
TEchairs@nywba.org
Working Parents
  • Gretchen Beall Schumann
  • Elysa Greenblatt
wpchairs@nywba.org