Committees and Co-Chairs

NYWBA’s committees are a key component in our success. Our Judiciary Committee actively reviews the qualifications of judicial candidates. Through our affiliation with the Women’s Bar Association of the State of New York (WBASNY), NYWBA also comments on proposed legislation and policy at state, federal, and international levels. Our substantive law committees and practice area committees also provide a forum for members to network and resolve real legal issues, and our Technology and the Internet for Lawyers Committee offers insights to attorneys on things technological that affect the practice of law.

If you are a member and would like to join a committee, click here to access our online form to submit your committee choices. If you have any questions about our Committees, contact the Committee Chair(s) or the NYWBA’s Executive Director (ED@nywba.org or 212-490-8202).

 

NYWBA Standing Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs
By-Laws & Amendments Elizabeth A. Bryson
212-580-9644
ByLaws@nywba.org
Amy B. Goldsmith
212-216-1135
ByLaws@nywba.org
Cooperation with Other Bar Associations Hon. Kelly O’Neill Levy
646-386-3885
CoopBarChairs@nywba.org
Yacine Barry-Wun

CoopBarChairs@nywba.org
Employment and Equal
Opportunity for Women
Suzanne Peters
212-545-4058
EEOWChairs@nywba.org
Judiciary(Screening of Candidates for Judicial Office) Magnolia Levy

212-888-6106
JudiciaryChairs@nywba.org

Virginia A. LoPreto

212-888-6106
JudiciaryChairs@nywba.org

Sabrina E. Morrissey

212-779-3500
JudiciaryChairs@nywba.org

n/a
Legislation Dawn M. Cardi
212-481-7770
Legislation@nywba.org
Membership Michael W. Appelbaum
212-308-2200
Membership@nywba.org
Deborah G. Rosenthal

516-487-1612
Membership@nywba.org

Professional Ethics and Discipline Nicole I. Hyland
212-826-5552
EthicsChairs@nywba.org
Allison Ageyeva

646-209-5005
EthicsChairs@nywba.org

Programs, Events and Arrangements Diana G. Browne
212-446-4969
Events@nywba.org
Kay Marmorek
646-386-4614
Events@nywba.org
Magnolia D. Levy (Membership Judiciary & Dinner Receptions)
212-326-0835
Events@nywba.org
Jo Ann Douglas (Annual Dinner)
212-673-2895
JDouglas@nywba.org
Publicity/Press Julie Hyman
347-449-6398
Publicity@nywba.org
n/a
NYWBA Special Committee Chairs
Advance the Status of
Women in the Profession
Ilana J. Marcus
646-386-5695
AdvanceStatus@nywba.org
Kathleen C. Waterman
646-386-3181
AdvanceStatus@nywba.org
Alternate Dispute Resolution (ADR) Leona Beane
212-608-0919
ADR@nywba.org
Lisa Courtney
917-545-7547
ADR@nywba.org
Michele Kern-Rappy

646-386-3623
ADR@nywba.org

n/a
Archives and History Elizabeth A. Bryson
212-580-9644
History@nywba.org
Melissa Glassman
917-579-9297
History@nywba.org
Awards n/a n/a
Children’s Rights and Issues Jo Ann Douglas

212-673-2895
ChildrensRights@nywba.org

Danielle M. Rodriguez

646-386-5214
ChildrensRights@nywba.org

Civil Courts Melissa G. Ephron-Mandel
212-393-1077
CivilCourtsChairs@nywba.org
Meryl H. Waxman
516-535-1700
CivilCourtsChairs@nywba.org
Hon. Anne Katz
646-386-5413
CivilCourtsChairs@nywba.org
TBA
Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Amy B. Goldsmith
212-216-1135
CLE@nywba.org
Ariel D. Chesler
212-340-0566
CLE@nywba.org
Elizabeth J. Shampnoi
914-522-0174
CLE@nywba.org
Criminal Law Fran Hoffinger
212-421-4000
CrimLawChairs@nywba.org
Diane Ferrone
212-315-0137
CrimLawChairs@nywba.org
Jessica Horani

212-803-5125
CrimLawChairs@nywba.org

Diversity Morgan Fraser Mouchette
212-885-5386
Diversity@nywba.org
Kristen Ramos

718-344-2253
Diversity@nywba.org

Ernestine Mings

347-350-6696
Diversity@nywba.org

Domestic Violence Amanda B. Norejko
212-349-6009
DVChairs@nywba.org
Laura A. Russell
646-340-1949
DVChairs@nywba.org
Elder Law and Disabilities Antonia J. Martinez
914-271-0165
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
Kim F. Trigoboff
646-308-1747
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
 Sabrina E. Morrissey
212-779-3500
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
n/a
Federal Practice (including Business Law, Securities & Investment Law, Intellectual Property, Tax & Bankruptcy) Vivian Drohan
212-710-0004
FederalPractice@nywba.org
International Women’s Rights Nicole Trivlis
212-920-5330
IntlChairs@nywba.org
Irina Zamyatin

IntlChairs@nywba.org
LGBT Virginia A. LoPreto
212-888-6106
LGBTChairs@nywba.org
Peggy Brady
212-949-5800
LGBTChairs@nywba.org
Litigation Francesca A. Sabbatino
212-600-2454
LitigationChairs@nywba.org
Sara Crasson
646-386-3807
LitigationChairs@nywba.org
Nidhi Shetye
646-998-5576
LitigationChairs@nywba.org
Long Range Planning / Finance Elizabeth A. Bryson
212-580-9644
LRP@nywba.org
Myra L. Freed
212-889-7184
LRP@nywba.org
Matrimonial and Family Law Judith E. White
212-271-0664
MFChairs@nywba.org
Jennifer H. Sundt
212-725-7111
MFChairs@nywba.org
Jeffrey Helewitz

MFChairs@nywba.org
n/a
Mentoring & Mentoring Circles Randy Shapiro
212-617-0814
Mentoring@nywba.org
Jessica A. Dahan
212-486-3200
Mentoring@nywba.org
Elisheva Ackerman
212-768-1115
Mentoring@nywba.org
n/a
Newsletter Jessica Cygler Wagner
914-874-4006
Newsletter@nywba.org
Alexandra Campbell
518-727-7409
Newsletter@nywba.org
Reproductive Rights & Women’s Health Meaghan Carey
ReproductiveRights@nywba.org
Brittany Lazzaro
ReproductiveRights@nywba.org
Solo and Small Firm Practice Jocelyn L. Jacobson
212-209-3053
SSFChairs@nywba.org
Susan Dennehy
212-974-6100
SSFChairs@nywba.org
Students and New Lawyers Melissa Glassman
917-579-9297
SNLChairs@nywba.org
Gulsun Turkmenogullari
347-260-4169
SNLChairs@nywba.org
Summer Program Cassandra M. Porter
973-422-6538
SummerProgram@nywba.org
Victoria A. Turchetti
917-596-7621
SummerProgram@nywba.org
Technology and the Internet / Website Elizabeth A. Bryson
212-580-9644
TIL@nywba.org
Yacine Barry-Wun

TIL@nywba.org
Trusts and Estates Leona Beane
212-608-0919
TEChairs@nywba.org
Angelica Kontoroff
646-741-0770
TEChairs@nywba.org
Loretta A. Ippolito
212-373-3368
TEChairs@nywba.org
n/a
Working Parents Gretchen Beall Schumann
212-512-0825
WPChairs@nywba.org
Melanie A. Chieu
917-757-3619
WPChairs@nywba.org
NYWBA Delegates to WBASNY Committees
Amicus Curiae Elizabeth A. Bryson (Co-Chair)
212-580-9644
Amicus@nywba.org
n/a
Awards n/a n/a
By-Laws Elizabeth A. Bryson (Co-Chair)
212-580-9644
By-Laws@nywba.orgm
n/a
Chapters – Membership Michael W. Appelbaum
212-308-2200
Membership@nywba.org
Deborah G. Rosenthal
Membership@nywba.org
Children’s Rights Jo Ann Douglas
212-673-2895
JDouglas@nywba.org
Danielle Rodriguez
646-386-5214
ChildrensRights@nywba.org
Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Amy B. Goldsmith
212-216-1135
CLE@nywba.org
Criminal Law Fran Hoffinger
212-421-4000
CrimLawChairs@nywba.org
Diane Ferrone
212-315-0137
CrimLawChairs@nywba.org
Diversity Amrita (Ami) Prabhu
917-913-2139
Diversity@nywba.org
Morgan Fraser Mouchette

Diversity@nywba.org
Domestic Violence Amanda B. Norejko
212-349-6009
DVChairs@nywba.org
Laura A. Russell
646-340-1949
DVChairs@nywba.org
Elder Law and Disabilities Antonia J. Martinez
914-271-0165
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
Kim F. Trigoboff
646-308-1747
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
Sabrina E. Morrissey
212-779-3500
ElderLawChairs@nywba.org
n/a
Equal Opportunity in the Profession Debra S. Cohen
212-619-5400
survey@nywba.org
n/a
Family and Matrimonial Law Virginia A. LoPreto

212-888-6106
MFChairs@nywba.org

Susan M. Moss

212-317-1717
SMoss@nywba.org

Finance Janet I. Cord (Co-Chair)
212-708-1935
jcord@nywba.org
n/a
Health Issues (see “Reproductive Rights,” below) n/a n/a
International Women’s Rights Farah Y. Zaman

607-765-5160
IntlChairs@nywba.org

n/a
Judges & Lawyers Breast Cancer Alert Hon. Jacqueline W. Silbermann

JSilbermann@nywba.org
n/a
Judiciary/Courts Deborah Rosenthal (delegate)

DRosenthal@nywba.org

Jocelyn Jacobson (alt)

JJacobson@nywba.org

Legislation Dawn M. Cardi
212-481-7770
Legislation@nywba.org
n/a
Liaison to Women Judges Hon. Betty Weinberg Ellerin
212-210-9424
BEllerin@nywba.org
n/a
Long-Range Planning Janet I. Cord (Co-Chair)
212-708-1935
jcord@ladas.com
n/a
Newsletter Jessica Cygler Wagner
914-874-4006
Newsletter@nywba.org
Alexandra Campbell
518-727-7409
Newsletter@nywba.org
Nominations Deborah Rosenthal

DRosenthal@nywba.org

Hon. Jacqueline W. Silbermann
JSilbermann@nywba.org
Press and Public Relations Julie Hyman
347-449-6398
Publicity@nywba.org
Maria Matos
646-386-5893
Publicity@nywba.org
Professional Ethics Nicole I. Hyland
212-826-5552
EthicsChairs@nywba.org
Allison Ageyeva

EthicsChairs@nywba.org
Reproductive Rights & Women’s Health Meaghan CareyReproductiveRights@nywba.org n/a
Trusts and Estates Leona Beane
212-608-0919
TEChairs@nywba.org
Angelica Kontoroff
646-741-0770
TEChairs@nywba.org
Loretta A. Ippolito
212-373-3368
TEChairs@nywba.org
n/a
Working Parents Gretchen Beall Schumann

212-512-0825

WPChairs@nywba.org

Melanie A. Chieu
917-757-3619
WPChairs@nywba.org
NYWBA Members on WBASNY Advisory Council
WBASNY Advisory Council(Only NYWBA Members Who Are Past Presidents of WBASNY) Susan L. Bender
212-725-7111
sbender@brirllp.com
Myrna Felder
212-752-3668
myrnafelder@aol.com
Martha E. Gifford
718-858-7571
giffordlaw@mac.com
Irene A. Sullivan
212-873-1345
isullivan1@optonline.net
NYWBA Liaisons to Other Bar Associations & Committees
Cooperation with Other Bar Associations (Chairs of NYWBA Standing Committee) Hon. Kelly O’Neill Levy
718-618-2204
KLevy@nywba.org
Morgan Fraser Mouchette
Network of Bar Leaders Leona Beane
212-608-0919
LBeane@nywba.org
Yacine Barry-Wun
646-386-5146
YBarry-Wun@nywba.org
National Conference of Women’s Bar Associations Elizabeth A. Bryson (Co-Chair)
212-580-9644
EBryson@nywba.org
n/a
“Bar None” – Women’s Bar Association Leaders Gretchen Beall Schumann
GSchumann@nywba.org
Julie Hyman
347-449-6398
jhyman@nywba.org
New York County Lawyers’ Association Committee on Women’s Rights Deborah Rosenthal

DRosenthal@nywba.org
n/a
New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) Committee on Women in the Law Jennifer P. Brown Yacine Barry-Wun
646-386-5146
YBarry-Wun@nywba.org
New York Women’s Agenda (NYWA) Andrea Vacca

AVacca@nywba.org
n/a
ABA Women Rainmakers Amy Goldsmith

AGoldsmith@nywba.org
n/a